

PHILIP D. MURPHY Governor

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services P.O. Box 712

State of New Jersey

P.O. Box 712 Trenton, NJ 08625-0712 SARAH ADELMAN Commissioner

GREGORY WOODS Assistant Commissioner

MEDICAID COMMUNICATION NO. 24-07

DATE: October 16, 2024

- **TO:** NJ FamilyCare Eligibility Determining Agencies
- SUBJECT: Post-Eligibility Treatment of Income 2024 Adjusted Utility Allowance N.J.A.C. 10:71-5.7

In determining the amount that may be deducted from the income of an institutionalized Medicaid-eligible individual for the maintenance of a community spouse, consideration is given to the excess shelter expenses of the community spouse. When calculating the amount of the shelter expenses, the standard utility allowance is utilized when the community spouse directly incurs utility charges.

As you are aware, these utility allowances are the same as those applicable in determining eligibility under the authority of the Division of Family Development's (DFD) Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). DFD has announced that the standard utility allowance will increase from \$850.00 to **\$878.00 per month**, <u>effective</u> <u>October 1, 2024</u>.

County Social Service Agencies (CSSA) and Institutional Services Section (ISS) offices shall continue to apply these standards in the post-eligibility treatment of income beginning with the month of October 2024 for all new cases and cases subject to redetermination.

If you have any questions regarding this Medicaid Communication, please refer them to the Division's Office of Eligibility field service staff member for your agency at 609-588-2556.

TAHESHA L. WAY Lt. Governor Page 2 of 2 Medicaid Communication 24-07

GW:bp

C:

Sarah Adelman, Commissioner Department of Human Services

Valerie Mielke, Deputy Commissioner Department of Human Services

Kaylee McGuire, Deputy Commissioner Department of Human Services

Michael J. Wilson, Deputy Commissioner Department of Human Services

Natasha Johnson, Assistant Commissioner Division of Family Development

Renee Burawski, Acting Assistant Commissioner Division of Mental Health and Addiction Services

Jonathan Seifried, Assistant Commissioner Division of Developmental Disabilities

Peri Nearon, Director Division of Disability Services

Louise Rush, Director Division of Aging Services

Christine Norbut Beyer, Commissioner Department of Children and Families

Kaitlan Baston, M.D., Commissioner Department of Health

Joshua Lichtblau, Director, Medicaid Fraud Division Office of the State Comptroller